BBC World News

The BBC World News viewer is interested in high-quality in- ternational news and in learning about the globalised world in which they live. They are technologically advanced and internationally minded.
Owned by / Company 

BBC Worldwide is the main commercial arm and a wholly owned subsidiary of the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC). This is achieved through investing in, commercialising and showcasing content from the BBC around the world, in a way that is consistent with BBC standards and values. The business also champions British creativity globally. In 2016/17, BBC Worldwide generated headline profits of £157.3m and headline sales of £1,059.9m and returned £210.5m to the BBC.

Who's who 

David Weiland
EVP, Asia
E: david.weiland@bbc.com

Kelvin Yau
GM, Greater China
E: kelvin.yau@bbc.com

Myleeta Aga
SVP & GM, South and South East Asia
E: myleeta.aga@bbc.com

Ryan Shiotani
VP, Content, Asia
E: ryan.shiotani@bbc.com

Shad Hashmi
VP, Digital Development Global Markets & Operations, Asia
E: shad.hashmi@bbc.com

Julia Nocciolino
VP, Brands & Commercial, Asia
E: julia.nocciolino@bbc.com

Terri Seow
VP, Marketing & Insights, APAC, Global News Ltd
E: terri.seow@bbc.com

Dan Inamoto
Managing Director, BBC World Japan
E: dan.inamoto@bbc.com

Jeanne Leong
Communications Director, Asia
E: jeanne.leong@bbc.com 

Affiliate Sales Contacts
South East Asia: Cheryl Png
Head of Distribution, Channels & Digital, SEA
E: cheryl.png@bbc.com

South East Asia: Harry Tarjanto
Affiliate Sales Manager
E: Harry.Tarjanto@bbc.com

South Asia: Sunil Joshi
Head of Distribution, India
E: suni.joshi@bbc.com

Korea: Jee-Yeon Kim
Affiliate and Digital Sales Manager
E: jee-yeon.kim@bbc.com

Greater China: Otto Leong
Director, Affiliate Sales
E: otto.leong@bbc.com

Programme Acquisition Contacts
Southeast Asia: Gayatri Singh
Senior Sales Manager
E: gayatri.singh@bbc.com

Southeast Asia: Ayesha Surty
Senior Sales Manager, Content and Format Sales, South East Asia
E: Ayesha.surty@bbc.com

India: Stanley Fernandes
Director, TV & Digital Sales
E: stanley.fernandes@bbc.com

Japan: Miyuki Kinoshita
Head of Sales, TV & Digital
E: miyuki.kinoshita@bbc.com

Korea: Jee-Yeon Kim
Affiliate and Digital Sales Manager
E: jee-yeon.kim@bbc.com 

Local Production 

A selection of local productions produced by BBC Worldwide India includes:
Stupid Man Smart Phone – the BBC format features city-dwelling comedian Sumeet Vyaas attempt some of the world’s toughest outdoor adventures, with his only survival tool being a mobile phone. The show premiered in September 2017 on Viacom18’s Video-on-Demand (VOD) streaming service VOOT, which reaches over 40 million users in India. Nach Baliye – premiered in April 2017 on Star Plus. The highly rated Nach Baliye showcased India’s most famous celebrity couples on the dance floor to compete against each other to win the title of nation’s best dancing celebrity couple.
India Banega Manch (IBM) – premiered in May 2017, and was broadcast on Viacom 18’s Colors channel in primetime. IBM is a talent candid camera show that takes place in the street where performers have to attract as many viewers as possible to win the competition.
Taste Match – this award-winning talk show features famous cricketer and ama- teur chef, Sandeep Patil, interacting with well-known cricketers as they cook their favourite recipes and share memorable moments of their sporting career and snip- pets of their personal lives. It was recently awarded ‘Best Talk Show’ at the 22nd Asian Television Awards.
Aye Zindagi – premiered in January 2017, and was broadcast on Zing, Zee Net- works India TV channel. Aye Zindagi is an episodic fiction series centered around the theme of the mistakes youth make and aims to tell them that these mistakes are not the end of them.


Co-productions
Co-production titles in Asia include:
Planet Earth II and Blue Planet II – Tencent
Blue Planet II – CCTV9
One Amazing Day – SMG Pictures
The Hunt- CCTV9

Television 

All of BBC’s linear television channels – BBC Earth, BBC Lifestyle, CBeebies and BBC World News – are on pan-regional Asian feeds. In Singapore, Hong Kong and Taiwan, BBC Earth and BBC Lifestyle channels are subtitled in Chinese. In Taiwan, CBeebies is dubbed in Mandarin. In Indonesia, BBC Earth is subtitled and CBeebies is dubbed into Bahasa Indonesia. In Korea, BBC Earth and BBC Entertain- ment are subtitled in Korean. In Thailand, select titles are dubbed on BBC Earth and BBC Lifestyle is subtitled into Thai. In Vietnam, select titles are dubbed on BBC Earth and BBC Lifestyle is subtitled into Vietnamese.

Channel distribution in Asia 

Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam and Laos. BBC World News is not broadcast in localised languages; however, the channel does have audio translation and subtitling in Japan.

Mobile/wireless/broadband/online 

In Singapore, BBC Earth, BBC Lifestyle, CBeebies, BBC First and BBC World News are available on StarHub’s TV Everywhere service. StarHub subscribers can go to StarHub’s TV Everywhere URL to watch the channels they have subscribed to. This service is an addition to the catch-up service for BBC Earth and BBC Lifestyle with StarHub. In Malaysia, BBC Earth, BBC Lifestyle, CBeebies, BBC First and BBC World News are available on TM Net’s TV Everywhere service, HyppTV Everywhere, available through an app, is exclusive to HyppTV subscribers with UniFi and Streamyx 4Mbps & 8Mbps.

Advertising/sponsorship 

BBC Advertising simplifies the complex media landscape for advertisers, ensuring that advertisers achieve the maximum advantages of advertising with the BBC across our channels, platforms and territories. Our brands, BBC World News, BBC Earth and bbc.com which carry advertising are synonymous with quality – quality content, quality audience and quality results.

Advertising Sales 

John Williams
VP, ASEAN & India, BBC Advertising
E: john.williams@bbc.com

Katy Xu
VP, Greater China and North Asia, BBC Advertising
E: katy.xu@bbc.com

Kenny Hau
Advertising Strategic Partnership and Development Director, Southeast Asia
E: kenny.Hau@bbc.com

Address 

BBC Worldwide Asia
3 Anson Road #17-03 Springleaf Tower
Singapore 079909

Contact 

T: +65 6849 5511
W: www.bbcasia.com; www.bbcplayer.com
FB: www.facebook.com/BBCEarth
Twitter: @BBCEarthAsia

Date 

1 May 2018