BBC Earth

BBC Earth appeals to highly passionate, motivated and engaged individuals aspiring to lead a quality life.

Owned by / Company 

BBC Worldwide is the main commercial arm and a wholly owned subsidiary of the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC). This is achieved through investing in, commercialising and showcasing content from the BBC around the world, in a way that is consistent with BBC standards and values. The business also champions British creativity globally. In 2015/16, BBC Worldwide generated headline profits of £133.8m and headline sales of £1,029.4m and returned a record £222.2m to the BBC.

Who's who 

David Weiland
EVP, Asia
E: david.weiland@bbc.com
Kelvin Yau
GM, Greater China
E: kelvin.yau@bbc.com
Myleeta Aga
SVP & GM, India and Creative Lead Asia
E: myleeta.aga@bbc.com
Soojin Chung
General Manager, Northeast Asia
E: soojin.chung@bbc.com
Ryan Shiotani
VP, Content, Asia
E: ryan.shiotani@bbc.com
Shad Hashmi
Head of Operations, Asia
E: shad.hashmi@bbc.com
Julia Nocciolino
VP, Brands & Commercial, Asia
E: julia.nocciolino@bbc.com
Naveen Jhunjhunwala
COO, BBC World News, India
E: naveen.jhunjhunwala@bbc.com

Affiliate Sales Contacts
Southeast Asia: Cheryl Png
Senior Affiliate Sales Manager
E: cheryl.png@bbc.com
Southeast Asia: Harry Tarjanto
Affiliate Sales Manager
E: harry.tarjanto@bbc.com
South Asia: Sunil Joshi
Head of Distribution, India
E: sunil.joshi@bbc.com
Korea: Jee-Yeon Kim
Affiliate and Digital Sales Manager
E: jee-yeon.kim@bbc.com
Greater China: Otto Leong
Director, Affiliate Sales
E: otto.leong@bbc.com

Programme Acquisition Contacts
Southeast Asia: Gayatri Singh
Senior Sales Manager
E: gayatri.singh@bbc.com
India: Stanley Fernandes
Director, TV & Digital Sales
E: stanley.fernandes@bbc.com
Japan: Miyuki Kinoshita
Head of Sales, TV & Digital
E: miyuki.kinoshita@bbc.com
Korea: Jee-Yeon Kim
Affiliate and Digital Sales Manager
E: jee-yeon.kim@bbc.com
China: Kelvin Yau
GM, Greater China
E: Kelvin.yau@bbc.com

Local Production 

A selection of local productions primarily in India includes: (all programmes listed below are produced by BBC Worldwide India) Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa and Dancing Stars – Jhalak Dikhla Jaa, the Hindi adaption of Dancing with the Stars, produced by BBC Worldwide in India. The series has won multiple awards and the latest series cumulatively reached 139 million viewers across all airings. In January 2016, a regional version of the same format, Dancing Stars (Kannada), launched in Karnataka. Girls on Top – premiered on 7 March 2016, and is broadcast on MTV India. It is a very popular daily youth drama about thee independent girls who move to Mumbai, and their highs and lows. Har Ghar Kuch Kehta Hai – the Hindi version of U.K. Indie, Nutopia’s format The House That Made Me. The series is award-winning. Kaisi Yeh Yaariaan focuses on the relationship between young adults who have come together as they embark on a new chapter in their lives – attending college. Dil Ko… Aaj Phir Jeene Ki Tamanna Hai (My Heart Desires to Live Again), aired on Doordarshan National. It was the first time BBC Worldwide in India produced a 106-episode fiction series for Doordashan, India’s public service broadcaster which reaches over a billion viewers. The Star Parivaar Awards (SPA), the most popular TV awards show in India. The annual event showcased actors and actresses for their outstanding performances on the programmes that aired on Star Plus for the past 12 months. India was responsible for conceptualising and producing the three-hour event filmed in front of a live audience. The award show aired on STAR Plus.

Co-Productions
Some of the co-production titles BBC worked on in Asia include:
Planet Earth II – Tencent
One Amazing Day – SMG Pictures
The Hunt – CCTV
Hidden Kingdoms – CCTV

Television 

All of BBC’s linear television channels – BBC Earth (SD & HD), BBC Lifestyle, CBeebies and BBC World News are on pan-regional Asian feeds. All channels in Asia are 24 hours. In Indonesia, BBC Earth is subtitled and CBeebies is dubbed into Bahasa Indonesia. In Korea, BBC Earth is subtitled in Korean. In Thailand, select titles are dubbed on BBC Earth and BBC Lifestyle is subtitled into Thai. In Vietnam, select titles are dubbed on BBC Earth and BBC Lifestyle is lectored into Vietnamese. In Singapore, Hong Kong and Taiwan, BBC Earth (SD & HD) and BBC Lifestyle channels are subtitled in Chinese.

Channel distribution in Asia 

Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam, Mongolia and Myanmar. There is also a BBC Earth block in Japan on WOWOW.

Mobile/wireless/broadband/online 

BBC First is currently available as an SVOD service in Singapore, Malaysia and Hong Kong. BBC First offers viewers the best British drama from the BBC and U.K. independent production companies. Viewers are also able to access select popular and distinct dramas from the BBC within 24 hours of their original transmission.
BBC Player is a authenticated multi-genre SVOD (Subscription Video On Demand) service that allows viewers to watch the very best of BBC programmes anytime and anywhere – via a free app on a smartphone or a tablet. The suite of BBC channels is available on the service – BBC First, BBC Earth, BBC Lifestyle, BBC Brit, CBeebies and BBC World News. Viewers can catch the shows online or download to watch offline for up to 30 days. It is also available online at www.bbcplayer.com
In Korea, select programmes on CBeebies are available on KT’s catch up service. BBC programmes are currently available on select OTT and IPTV VOD platforms in China. CBeebies is available as a branded SVOD on BesTV. In Singapore, BBC Earth, BBC Lifestyle, CBeebies and BBC World News are available on StarHub’s TV Everywhere service. This service is an addition to the catch-up service for BBC Earth and BBC Lifestyle with StarHub.
In Malaysia, BBC Earth, BBC Lifestyle, CBeebies and BBC World News are available on TM Net’s TV Everywhere service. Their ‘HyppTV Everywhere’ service, available through an app, is exclusive to HyppTV subscribers with UniFi and Streamyx 4Mbps & 8Mbps. BBC Earth HD is a simulcast of the SD version.

Advertising/sponsorship 

BBC Advertising simplifies the complex media landscape for advertisers, ensuring that advertisers achieve the maximum advantages of advertising with the BBC across its channels, platforms and territories. BBC's brands, BBC World News, BBC Earth and bbc.com which carry advertising are synonymous with quality – quality content, quality audience and quality results.

Advertising Sales 

John Williams
VP, ASEAN & India, BBC Advertising
E: john.williams@bbc.com
Katy Xu
VP, Greater China and North Asia, BBC Advertising
E: katy.xu@bbc.com
Korea: Jee-Yeon Kim
Affiliate and Digital Sales Manager
E: jee-yeon.kim@bbc.com
Kenny Hau
Advertising Strategic Partnership and Development Director, Southeast Asia
E: kenny.hau@bbc.com

Address 

BBC Worldwide Asia
3 Anson Road #17-03 Springleaf Tower
Singapore 079909
T: +65 6849 5511
W: www.bbcasia.com; www.bbc.com; www.bbcworldwide.com
FB: www.facebook.com/BBCEarth
Twitter: @BBCEarthAsia, @BBCWorld

Date 

1 January 2017